Waking Dream ~ C.j.Sanders


I MUST be dreaming.
There you are..
Standing next to me.
In front of the priest.
My family on the left.
Yours on the right.
Soon to be “ours”.

Two more words and you’re mine.
My turn next.
The words flow from my lips like the tide.
I can’t hold it back.
I. Do.
You do too.
Its final.
It’s forever.
‘Til death do us part.

Announced as Mr. & Mrs.
My heart skips a beat.
The recessional starts playing.
Here comes the rice.
Dizzy.
Weak.
Astounded.
And, yet, Stronger.
Whole.

I MUST be dreaming.
There you are..
Here I am.
Fifty years later.
Still mine.
I gently pinch my arm.

Turns out,
It was never a
Dream at all.

If only my sleep was so sweet.
But it gets better every night I sleep by your side.

~ by Antelux Oculos on 08/21/2011.

2 Responses to “Waking Dream ~ C.j.Sanders”

  1. These should be your wedding vows.

  2. Or 50th anniversay vows…

Leave a Reply

 
